Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
A Certificate of Personal Property Non-Assessment may be obtained if you did not own a vehicle in St. Charles County on January 1 of the required tax year.
You may submit your documentation in person, via fax to 636-949-7434 or by email to email@example.com. When submitting via fax or email, please include your mailing address, physical address (if different), and address on January 1 of the prior two years if you were a Missouri resident.
The Collector of Revenue issues tax bill amounts. Contact the Collector of Revenue or visit the office's website.
Contact the Assessor’s Office, send self-addressed stamped envelope or access the verification online.
Year, make, model and VIN number, mileage and signature. This form must be completed each year.
Audit reports are available online through the County Auditor’s website, by contacting the Auditor’s office directly via phone or email or by coming into the Auditor’s office.
Reports can be made through the County Auditor’s website, the confidential hotline at 636-949-7526, or by emailing the County Auditor directly at firstname.lastname@example.org.
The County’s Financial Statements and Single Audit are available through the Finance Department.
Yes, we accept credit cards for filing fees, court costs and fines. A convenience fee will be applied. Visa, Mastercard, Discover, cash, money orders or cashier checks are accepted.
Unfortunately we do not currently provide these types of petitions. We suggest that you look for the petition you need online or research it at your local library. Please make sure that it is a State of Missouri-approved form. Note: If you are filing by mail, please contact the court about proper procedure and any additional paperwork required.
Missouri Highway Patrol-Troop C: 636-300-2800St. Charles County Sheriff’s Office: 636-949-3016St. Charles City: 636-949-3300St. Peters City: 636-949-1833O’Fallon City: 636-240-8766
You can also visit the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) website or the Missouri Case.net website.
Expungement of arrest records: $98
Expungement of conviction records: $348
Please contact the court for information regarding these filings.
If you or your attorney appeared in court, your case was closed and you were ordered to pay fines and costs, you have the following options to pay:
Also, your taxes may increase because:
- Your rates are determined by the voters and may have increased.
- Values are determined by the assessor per NADA - & may have increased.
- You have a new vehicle
The Citizens of St. Charles County adopted Section 137.082 RSMo providing for the assessment and collection of Occupancy Tax during the 1990 General Election. This section states "a building or other structure classified as residential property... newly constructed and occupied... shall be assessed and taxed... as of the first day of the month following the date of occupancy for the proportionate part of the remaining year....". For further reference to Section 137.082 RSMo.
SCCMO AlertMe is a free mass notification system provided by St. Charles County for residents and businesses that offers alerts delivered by text, email, or phone call. Visit the SCCMO AlertMe webpage to learn more.
We will contact you through all the contact preferences you enter when registering for SCCMO AlertMe.
SCCMO AlertMe calls come from 636-949-7598. Please note - the system will not accept return calls or messages, but will leave voicemails.
The system will not accept return calls or messages, but will leave voicemails. Replies to texts and emails are not monitored or returned. For questions or to share information, please refer to the alert for relevant contact information.
No. Emergency information will be sent to you based on personal contact information but will not be posted on this site. However, in many cases, it will be posted on the homepage of the County’s website and on the County’s social media pages. SCCMo AlertMe does not replace other emergency notification systems. Along with broadcast media, radio, weather radio, and outdoor warning sirens, it should be considered one of several methods for receiving emergency alerts, but should not be the only alert method. At this time, Emergency Management alerts do not include notifications about thunderstorm and tornado watches and warnings.
Yes. Because there may be instances where you are not at home to receive a landline call, it is recommended that subscribers with mobile phones add that number as a contact preference.
Sign in to your SCCMO AlertMe account and update your Profile, Alert Subscriptions and/or Delivery Methods.
Yes. At the end of the message, press the star (*) key on your phone to have it repeated in its entirety.
For busy signals, call waiting signals, or when there is no answer, the call will be repeated several times in an attempt to reach you. If the phone is answered by a message recorder, the message will be left on the answering device.
While registration for SCCMO AlertMe is free, cellular message and data rates may apply depending on provider and plan.
Please contact the County by email.
Please see our Building Permits page or contact our office at 636-949-7345.
Before purchasing or leasing a property from which to operate a business, contact the County Planning & Zoning Division at Planning@sccmo.org or 636-949-7335 to verify that the zoning classification for the property allows your specific type of business. Following initial verification, you should apply for a Business Occupancy Permit by submitting the application to the County Building and Code Enforcement Division (201 N. Second St., Suite 412, St. Charles, MO 63301, 636-949-7345, (fax) 636-949-7336, email@example.com). If you plan to modify the building or site, you will need to discuss those changes with Building and Code Enforcement Division staff to determine if a building permit will be required. You should also contact the appropriate fire district to see if they will require an inspection. If your business will prepare or serve food you must contact the County’s Environmental Health Division (1650 Boone's Lick, St. Charles, MO 63301, 636-949-1800, firstname.lastname@example.org) regarding any additional license requirements.
Please visit our Citizenserve Citizen Access Portal; call 636-949-7900, ext. 7345; email email@example.com; or fax your concern to 636-949-1816.
b. You will need to correct the violations listed within the time period identified on the letter. Depending upon the type of violation(s) and whether this is a repeat violations, you may be granted an extension of time to complete the work but this must be granted by the inspector prior to the deadlines on the notice to prevent receiving a summons to appear in court.
Section 412.050 of St. Charles County Code
County Planning and Zoning staff can provide you with the minimum setback requirements for improvements to your property. The specific development standards are contained within the Unified Development Ordinance. St. Charles County’s Zoning Illustrated can be very useful for understanding these regulations. The County also provides online guidance about installing fences and swimming pools.
To request that the County change the zoning classification for any property, a property owner (or agent for the property owner) can submit an application and copy of their deed to rezone their property along with the application fee. Using the County Master Plan as a guide, County staff will refer the application to the Planning and Zoning Commission with a staff recommendation. After holding a public hearing and taking public comments, the Planning & Zoning Commission will forward the application and its recommendation to the County Council. The County Council will either approve or deny the application. Rezoning a property is typically a three-month process. Visit the Rezoning webpage for more information on the steps to rezone properties.
To determine whether any project or improvements you plan to undertake on your property would require a Floodplain Development Permit, please contact the County Planning & Zoning Division (201 N. Second St., Suite 412, St. Charles, MO 63301, 636-949-7345, (fax) 636-949-7336, Planning@sccmo.org).
Before purchasing or leasing a property from which to operate a business, contact the County Planning & Zoning Division at Planning@sccmo.org or 636-949-7335 to verify that the zoning classification for the property allows your specific type of business. Following initial verification, you should apply for a Business Occupancy Permit by submitting the application to the County Building Division (201 N. Second St., Suite 412, St. Charles, MO 63301, 636-949-7345, (fax) 636-949-7336, firstname.lastname@example.org). If you plan to modify the building or site, you will need to discuss those changes with Building Division staff to determine if a building permit will be required. You should also contact the appropriate fire district to see if they will require an inspection. If your business will prepare or serve food you must contact the County’s Public Health Department (1650 Boone's Lick, St. Charles, MO 63301, 636-949-1800, email@example.com) regarding any additional license requirements.
If you wish to operate a business from your home, you should submit a Home Occupation Permit application to the County Planning and Zoning Division (201 N. Second St., Suite 420, St. Charles, MO 63301, 636-949-7335, (fax) 636-949-7336, Planning@sccmo.org).
Property owners have two options for subdividing property, depending on the lot size complexity of the subdivision. For the division of land into lots of five (5) acres or greater in size, provided the land is located within "A," "R" or "RR" zoning districts and outside of any existing subdivisions, you may submit a minor subdivision plat. For all other land divisions, a preliminary plat and a final plat will be required. Please note that all plats must be prepared by a professional engineer or land surveyor currently licensed by the State of Missouri. Minor subdivision plats are reviewed by County staff, and once approved by County staff must be recorded with the County Recorder of Deeds office. All other subdivision plats must be approved and signed by both the Planning and Zoning Commission, and the Director of the Planning and Zoning Division. Once these plats have been signed and approved, they must also be filed in the County Recorder of Deed’s office.St. Charles County ordinances do not require subdivision plats to be created for new parcels or tracts of land if the property to be subdivided is located outside of recorded subdivisions and its legal description was recorded prior to August 23, 1999.
Following is the St. Charles County Police Department address and contact information: 101 Sheriff Dierker Court O’Fallon, Missouri 63366 Telephone 636-949-3000, firstname.lastname@example.org
Special Visits are authorized on a case by case basis dependent upon a variety of verifiable circumstances such as: visitors coming from long distances, family emergencies, etc. Requests for Special Visits are typically reviewed and approved on a case by case basis by a Department of Corrections Caseworker. Caseworkers may be reached at 636-949-3003, ext. 3075 or ext. 4600.
Inmates / detainees are allowed 1 hour-long noncontact visit every other week. Visitation time is determined by housing unit and cell assignment. There is a maximum of 4 visitors, 2 at a time. All visitors must arrive at least 15 minutes prior to visitation and must provide the Central Control Officers with a valid photo I.D. (except for accompanied children under age 16). Individuals 16 years of age, or younger, must be accompanied by an adult (at least 21 years of age). Children must be supervised at all times. Unattended or disruptive children will be escorted with the accompanying adult out of the building.
Inmates / detainees are required to complete a visitation list for each visiting session specifying whom he/she wants to visit with. Only the persons listed by the inmate / detainee will be allowed to see the inmate / detainee. It is the inmate / detainee’s responsibility to complete the list and no messages will be taken by any staff member of St. Charles County Department of Corrections (SCCDOC).
The SCCDOC adult detention facility does not permit contact visits.
Applications to become a Notary Public are available at the Finance Department, and via the Secretary of State’s website.
Questions regarding Notary Publics (other than those regarding commissions) should be directed to the Missouri Secretary of State’s office at 573-751-2783. Missouri Sec. of State Website
A Notary Public must be sworn in in the county of the applicant's residence. St. Charles County applicants may be sworn in at the Office of the County Registrar located at 201 N. Second St., Room 541, St. Charles, M) 63301.
Notaries are not renewable. All Notary Publics must re-apply every four years.
The County Registrar’s Office fee for recording the notary commission and administering the oath is $5 (additional fee if using a credit card for payment). Additional fees to become a Notary Public include a $25 fee made payable to the State Director of Revenue to file the application to become a Notary, a four-year notary surety bond acquired through an insurance or bonding company at the cost of approximately $50, and a journal and notary seal acquired through any office supply store at a cost of approximately $150.
No. All documents must be signed in the Office of the County Registrar in front of the Registrar or deputy clerk.
Please check that the date of commission and your county of residence is correct. The date of commission should be indicated on the bond. If the space on the bond is blank where the beginning date of the commission should be, please fill in the proper beginning date. If the date or county of residence is incorrect, the applicant will need to contact the insurance company to obtain a rider to correct the Surety Bond.
Absentee voting hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday six weeks before each election, and the Saturday prior to Election Day from 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at 397 Turner Blvd., St. Peters, MO 63376. For additional information about written requests and other absentee voting requirements, visit https://www.sccmo.org/447/Absentee-Voting.
The questions asked were developed and approved by the International Academies of Emergency Dispatch as “a protocol system to accurately and consistently dispatch needed support” and to “assign the necessary resources to the variety of calls” that come into our centers. These questions help us get accurate information for the responding units as well as to lend effective assistance to those on scene prior to responders' arrival.
When a person in St Charles County dials 911, the call will first go to one of the police agencies that serve as a Primary Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) based upon the location of the resident. PSAPs include St. Charles, St. Peters, O’Fallon, Lake Saint Louis, Wentzville and St. Charles County. As soon as dispatchers determine the need for fire and/or emergency medical resources, they transfer the call to St. Charles County Emergency Communications. At that point, the personnel at Emergency Communications follow protocols to aid and send the appropriate resources.
A farmers market, temporary food establishment or mobile food unit license is required for vendors at farmers markets who handle, prepare or serve:
The above item list is not all-inclusive, because it would be impossible to imagine all the items that a vendor may wish to serve. Vendors unsure of whether or not serving their goods at a Farmers Market may require a license should call 636-949-1800 for assistance.
Please note that, any person engaged in the business of operating a food establishment without a license as required by the St. Charles County Food Code shall be subjected to a fine of 5 hundred dollars ($500) for each offense. Section 8-601.11.
A license is not required for vendors who serve:
The department is aware of a number of individuals who wish to prepare food and sell it at Farmers Markets. Items such as hamburgers, hot dogs, omelets, cooked rice and the like have been creeping in to some Farmers Markets. These items involve food preparation of potentially hazardous food and involve food handling during preparation. There are state and local laws regulating the source of the food being prepared, as well as how it is stored, prepared, held for sale and handled. This type of operation is no different than the food vendors and the products found at many festivals, fairs and other events throughout our county at various times of the year. Vendors interested in selling or giving away prepared items must obtain one of the following:
The St. Charles County Department of Public Health does not charge or collect vendor fees. We only charge farmers market, temporary food establishment or mobile food establishment license fees. Any concerns regarding market fees or site regulations are between the vendors and the market. We do not regulate the market operation.
The Centers For Disease Control and Prevention collects data year-round and reports on influenza (flu) activity in the United States each week from October through May. For more information about CDC's influenza surveillance activities, see the Overview of Influenza Surveillance in the United States. To view reports related to flu activity within St. Charles County, please view online.
Any individual, partnership, corporation, or organization that serves food to the public — regardless of whether or not they charge for their product — must apply for and obtain a food establishment license. Not-for-profit charitable or religious organizations, as well as educational institutions, may be exempt from fees associated with this process in some cases.
First, you will need to contact the building and/or financial departments for your particular jurisdiction to obtain business and occupancy permits. If you are operating in unincorporated St. Charles County, you may visit the Community Development and Finance department pages of the county’s website.
Next, obtain a license application and Code Book from the Division of Environmental Health and Protection, which will explain all of the ordinances and requirements for food establishments within St. Charles County. Please note: there may be fees required to be submitted with your completed application. If you have questions regarding the Code or the application process, please call us at 636.949.1800.
The application forms may ask for the following information:
Lastly, after receiving approval to construct the establishment, you must contact the division approximately one week prior to the date you wish to open — so that a member of our staff may complete the opening inspection. Failure to schedule this inspection without adequate time may result in unnecessary delays or last-minute changes to the facility.
Please review the section above related to opening a food establishment and obtaining necessary licenses. These licenses are non-transferable, and the Plan Review fees are not pro-rated. New owners must apply for their own licenses and inspections prior to assuming responsibility of ownership of the establishment. Floor plan and equipment schedule submission are not typically required on these transactions, unless the new owner plans extensive remodeling or change.
Establishments currently in operation, which are free from any unresolved violations, may not require an additional inspection before opening under the new ownership. If there is an outstanding violation regarding facility/equipment repair, critical violations (please see the Code Book for explanations) or food safety certification, the new owner will be required to correct this violation and undergo a subsequent inspection before opening for operation. These matters will be discussed by the parties upon submission of the license application.
Division of Environmental Health and Protection sanitarians perform routine inspections throughout the year for licensed establishments. The frequency of these inspections may differ depending upon the nature of the establishment, its seasons of operation and other factors.
All establishments must display their St. Charles County Food License, as well as their most recent inspection and food safety certification course certificates for all certified employees in a prominent location for public display. These displayed documents must be clearly visible to the public. Owners should be prepared to match food safety certificates to current employee records upon request.
Yes. The establishment’s last inspection must be posted in a prominent location, so that it may be viewed by the public. In addition, Missouri’s Sunshine Law states that all inspections are a matter of public record and can be viewed by anyone. The Department of Community Health and the Environment publishes these findings at Know the Score and distributes them to local media as requested. In addition, many other documents (applications, ownership information, etc.) are a matter of public record as well. Individuals and organizations wishing to view these documents via Sunshine Law request should contact the division at 636-949-1800.
To recognize that food service facilities in St. Charles County place a high importance on customer health and safety, the Division of Environmental Health and Protection established its 24 Carrot Food Safety Excellence Award program in 2007. While all licensed establishments within the county meet necessary requirements to protect the ones they serve, these awards recognize the many organizations that exceed those standards.
Plans for any significant change in the food establishment facility or equipment layout must be approved by the Division of Environmental Health and Protection. Fees for a plan review may be found online. For additional information or assistance, please call 636-949-1800.
If you are selling your establishment, you should make the new owners aware of any uncorrected violations from previous inspection reports. These items must be repaired before a new license will be issued. It is also helpful to provide these persons with product information on the equipment in the facility, as well as the name of any service contractors that are familiar with the equipment history. You should also contact the Division of Environmental Health and Protection 636-949-1800 and inform us as to the change in ownership, so that your name is removed from our system.
The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services establishes regulations that govern all establishments that produce ice cream or dispense soft-serve custard, ice cream, ice milk or frozen yogurt.
Although the Division of Environmental Health and Protection will inspect all aspects of your establishment and bar areas must be included in the floor plan with your application, the division does not provide permitting for the sale of alcoholic beverages. To obtain this license, you must conform to all applicable local, state and federal liquor-control regulations. Please contact your local jurisdiction and the Missouri Department of Public Safety’s Alcohol and Tobacco Control for more information.
The St. Charles County Department of Public Health and other medical care organizations are prohibited from sharing individually-identifiable personal health information by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) regulations and the privacy rule.
Stigma and discrimination can occur when people associate an infectious disease with a specific population or group of people. Stigma hurts us all by creating more fear and anger towards individuals instead of the disease itself.
We can fight stigma by providing social support and communicating facts. COVID-19 is a disease that can affect anyone, regardless of age, gender, nationality or background.
Currently there is no evidence to support transmission of COVID-19 associated with imported goods and there have not been any cases of COVID-19 in the United States associated with mailed goods. There is still a lot that is unknown about the newly emerged COVID-19 and how it spreads. In general, because of poor survivability of these coronaviruses on surfaces, there is likely very low risk of spread from products or packaging that are shipped over a period of days or weeks at ambient temperatures.
Visit the 11th Judicial Circuit Court’s website for more information.
St. Charles County cannot provide individual legal advice. Please refer to your private legal counsel for assistance with custody issues, contract disputes or any other civil legal matter.
The CDC is an excellent resource for up-to-date information on COVID-19. Here are FAQs answered on their website.
For additional questions, please call the St. Charles County Public Health COVID-19 Information Hotline at 636-949-1899.
Until we learn more about how this virus affects animals, treat pets as you would other human family members to protect them from a possible infection:
Should you be concerned that your pet was exposed to COVID-19 or if you have any concerns about your pet’s health, please consult your veterinarian.
At this time, there is no evidence that animals play a significant role in spreading the virus that causes COVID-19. Based on the limited information available to date, the risk of animals spreading COVID-19 to people is considered to be low. A small number of pets have been reported to be infected with the virus that causes COVID-19, mostly after contact with people with COVID-19. Although certain germs can be carried on fur and hair, there is no evidence that viruses, including the virus that causes COVID-19, can spread to people from the skin, fur, or hair of pets.
However, since animals can spread other diseases to people, it’s always a good idea to practice healthy habits around pets and other animals — such as washing your hands if you do handle animals or their food, supplies or waste. St. Charles County Animal Control offers additional suggestions for encounters with loose animals.
At this time, there is no evidence to suggest that COVID-19 - or other similar coronaviruses that have been studied closely - is spread by mosquitoes, houseflies, ticks or other insects. The primary way that this virus spreads is through person-to-person contact.
Please note: these creatures are capable of spreading other serious diseases to people and their pets. Take precautions when going outdoors to wear insect repellent, avoid common insect habitats and check for insects when returning home.
If you are sick with COVID-19 (either suspected or confirmed by a test), you should restrict contact with your pet, just like you would with people. Until we know more about this virus, people sick with COVID-19 should avoid contact with pets and other animals.
If you are sick with COVID-19 and your pet becomes sick, speak with your veterinarian and let them know you have been sick with COVID-19. Your veterinarian can evaluate your pet and determine the next steps for your pet’s treatment and care.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and other health organizations are investigating how COVID-19 can affect animals, but there is no evidence that animals play a significant role in spreading the virus. A small number of pets—cats and dogs—have been confirmed to be infected with the virus that causes COVID-19, mostly after close contact with a person with COVID-19, but those infected pets all had mild disease and could be taken care of at home.Should you be concerned that your pet was exposed to COVID-19, please consult your veterinarian for information regarding care.
Currently, there is no evidence to suggest that COVID-19 is circulating in free-living wildlife in the United States or that wildlife might be a source of infection for people. However, because animals can carry other diseases, even without looking sick, it is always important to enjoy wildlife from a distance. Take steps to prevent getting sick from wildlife in the United States:
Walking a dog is important for both animal and human health and well-being. Follow these prevention recommendations:
Based on the limited information available to date, the risk of animals spreading COVID-19 to people is considered to be low. There is no reason to think that any animals, including shelter pets, play a significant role in spreading the virus that causes COVID-19.If you are interest in becoming a foster parent or adopting from the St. Charles County Pet Adoption Center, please call 636-949-7387 to schedule an appointment.
The CDC is an excellent resource for up-to-date information on COVID-19. Here are FAQs answered on their website. The American Veterinary Medical Association website also provides assistance regarding animal care.
While the State of Missouri and St. Charles County will allow businesses and organizations to open as they feel comfortable after June 16, 2020 under the Show Me Strong Recovery plan orders, it is the ultimate choice by the organization itself as to whether or not they do open. The Department of Public Health has issued guidance for employers in these instances. This guidance provides additional details for:
Beyond St. Charles County’s guidelines, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention provides an excellent resource for up-to-date information and guidance on COVID-19. Their website also offers specific guidance for certain groups, such as:
St. Charles County Executive Steve Ehlmann announced that the county would follow Phase 2 of Missouri’s Show Me Strong Recovery plan. Effective June 16, 2020, this announcement lifts previously issued COVID-19 restrictions on individuals, businesses and organizations.
The Department of Public Health has issued guidelines for employers to follow as they re-open according to the plan. These recommendations are for all businesses and organizations, with specific guidelines for restaurants, professional services, churches, offices, transportation services, residential care facilities, schools and child care providers.
Effective May 4, 2020, Missouri Governor Mike Parson implemented the first phase of the state’s Show Me Strong Recovery plan that will continue until at least May 31, 2020. On June 16, 2020, St. Charles County Executive Steve Ehlmann announced that the county would follow Phase 2 recommendations and lift previously issued COVID-19 restrictions on individuals, businesses and organizations. For information on this plan, please visit https://showmestrong.mo.gov.
The Department of Public Health has issued guidelines for employers to follow to continue health and safety efforts during the re-opening process. These recommendations are for all businesses and organizations, with specific guidelines for restaurants, professional services, churches, offices, transportation services, residential care facilities, schools and child care providers.
If you observe violations of local public health orders or have concerns related to businesses that are not following good precautionary behaviors, please contact the Division of Environmental Health and Protection at 636-949-1800.
While the State of Missouri and St. Charles County will allow businesses and organizations to open as they feel comfortable after June 16, 2020 under the Show Me Strong Recovery plan orders, it is the ultimate choice by the organization itself as to whether or not they do open. St. Charles County will not compel any business or organization to remain open if they do not choose to do so.
The Department of Public Health has released guidelines for employers to assist business owners and organizations during the re-opening process.
The Department of Public Health has released guidelines for employers to assist church and organization leaders during the re-opening process.
Contact the Recorder of Deeds at email@example.com.
Effective June 16, 2020, the St. Charles County Recorder of Deeds has reopened to the public, with a representative on the first floor of the County Administration Building (201 North Second, in St. Charles) to help mitigate the spread of COVID-19 virus. Individuals may also contact staff by phone, email, mail or e-Recording.
As of April 10, 2020, any marriage license issued by the St. Charles County Recorder of Deeds between Feb. 27 and March 20, 2020, will be honored until Dec. 31, 2020. One of the applicants must appear in the office with the original marriage license within 30 days of the new ceremony date to receive a new marriage license at no cost.
Please note: The Recorder of Deeds only issues marriage licenses; the Recorder of Deeds cannot perform marriage ceremonies. Thank you.
The Department of Public Health has released guidelines for employers to assist business owners and organizations during the re-opening process. In addition, operators should follow the CDC guidance targeted for those operations found at: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/schools-childcare/guidance-forchildcare.html.
St. Charles County cannot provide individual legal advice. Please refer to your private legal counsel for assistance with this matter.
The County does provide operational guidelines to help employers continue to protect the health and safety of employees and customers.
A list of resources is available to help St. Charles County businesses and residents during the COVID-19 pandemic. You may also seek answers from the St. Charles County Missouri Job Center and the County’s Office of Workforce and Business Development.
The Department of Public Health has released guidelines for employers to assist business owners and organizations who may operate within recommended social distancing norms.
As St. Charles County does not operate any athletic fields, sports complexes or aquatic facilities, it is first recommended that you speak with the facility owners about their interest in operating their business. If they so choose to open, they may do so after June 16, 2020 under the Show Me Strong Recovery plan orders.
The Department of Public Health has released guidelines for athletic complexes and athletes to enhance the health and safety of all involved.
Licensed public aquatic facilities must also adhere to polices outlined by the St. Charles County Aquatic Facility Code.
St. Charles County Executive Steve Ehlmann has announced that the County would follow guidelines outlined in Missouri’s Show Me Strong Recovery Plan, that is effective as of June 16, 2020. According to the Governor and County plans and CDC recommendations, pools may open as they so wish, with recommendations that they follow social distancing and other disease prevention guidelines. However, you must also consult with any requirements your facility must follow according to the County aquatic permit.
If you have additional questions, please contact the Division of Environmental Health and Protection, which issues the County pool operation permits, at 636-949-1800 and/or the municipality where the facility is located - if within city limits.
For questions about St. Charles County’s Employer Guidelines and industry specific recommendations, please visit our COVID-19 website.
For questions about the State of Missouri’s Show Me Strong Recovery plan, please visit the Governor’s website.
COVID-19 is a virus strain, formerly referred to as novel coronavirus. This new virus and disease were unknown before the outbreak began in Wuhan, China, in December 2019. Reports of illness from this virus are now found throughout the globe, including cases in St. Charles County.
People with COVID-19 illness report a wide range of symptoms, from mild or no ailments to severe illness. Symptoms typically appear 2-14 days after exposure to the virus and include:
For additional information on symptoms, please refer to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website.
The disease can spread in several ways. The virus is primarily passed from person to person through small droplets from the nose or mouth, which are transmitted when a person with COVID-19 coughs, speaks or exhales. Some spread may be possible before people show symptoms. It is also possible to get infected by touching a surface or object that has the virus and then touching anywhere on your face.
There is currently no vaccine to prevent COVID-19, nor a recommended treatment for those who become infected with the virus. The best way to prevent illness is to avoid exposure.
The risk for catching COVID-19 depends upon with whom you have interacted. While anyone can catch COVID-19, safety measures such as staying home, practicing physical distancing and frequently washing hands and commonly touched surfaces can lower your risk.Although most who become infected are able to recover at home, older adults and those with pre-existing medical conditions are at higher risk for developing serious complications. If symptoms progress or if you experience emergency warning signs - such as trouble breathing, persistent pain or pressure in the chest, unexplained confusion, bluish lips or face or extremely high fever - please seek medical attention immediately. If you have a medical emergency, call 911 and notify the dispatcher that you have, or think you may have, COVID-19.
Here are specific recommendations:
Face coverings can help prevent the spread of COVID-19 to others, but only if they are worn and cared for correctly. The type of mask you choose isn’t nearly as important as when, where and how you wear it. It is recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that you wear a mask in public spaces, where social distancing isn’t easy to maintain – such as retail stores, pharmacies, workplaces and the like.
Wearing a face mask is only part of a toolkit to prevent the spread of illness in our community. Practicing social distancing, washing hands and following additional prevention recommendations are all important parts of the process.
To be asymptomatic, it means you are not showing symptoms of having the illness. However, you could be carrying the virus without knowing it and without feeling or looking sick. Asymptomatic individuals may be able to spread the virus to others.
Community spread means that people have been infected with COVID-19 in an area and have passed along the virus to others in that area who have no other source for becoming infected.
COVID-19, influenza (the flu) and the common cold are all contagious respiratory illnesses spread by viruses; but these are all caused by different viruses. Because the three share many symptoms, testing is the most effective way to confirm diagnosis. Please visit our website and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention links provided on that page for additional information.
Contact tracing is the process of identifying people who may have been exposed to a contagious disease like COVID-19 and monitoring those people and those who they may have contacted to stop the spread of that illness.
Contact tracers work with individuals to make a list of people with whom they may have interacted while they were potentially contagious. Contact tracers then contact the people on the list, provide them guidance on next steps and further investigate who those individuals may have met. If there are others, the process starts again. Confidentiality is always maintained during this process.
Contact tracing has been used effectively to monitor and control the spread of illnesses like tuberculosis, HIV, Ebola, SARS, measles and other infections around the globe for many years.
Contact tracers will ask you a series of questions to help you remember with whom you may have contacted while you were contagious. They may ask where you work, where you have been, where you obtained food or other supplies, and with whom you visited. The more detail and honesty you can provide, the better the investigation.
Confidentiality is always maintained during this process. Contact tracers will never ask for Social Security Numbers, financial information or other unnecessary personal details.
Regular disinfecting of commonly touched surfaces is recommended. First, clean dirt from the area with a soap/water combination. Then, use products according to manufacturer’s recommendations or a bleach solution to kill the virus and make it unable to infect people.
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency offers a list of registered disinfectant products that are approved for use against the virus.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Missouri Dental Association offer guidance for dental services.
St. Charles County Executive Steve Ehlmann declared a State of Emergency on March 13, 2020, so the County can access potential federal funding should the need arise. This original State of Emergency was extended by Executive Order 20-07 and subsequently by Executive Order 20-08, which will remain in effect until December 31, 2020.
The St. Charles County Department of Public Health follows CDC guidelines and recommendations.
The St. Charles County Department of Public Health and St. Charles County Government are collaborating with federal, state and local partners to investigate COVID-19, monitor individuals who may have been exposed to the virus and implement procedures to reduce the spread of illness. In addition, County staff is assisting our community partners in health care, emergency medical services, schools, universities and businesses by answering their questions and assisting in their surveillance and preparedness activities. The health department’s communicable disease epidemiologist is coordinating the effort of the communicable disease staff to monitor the community for possible exposures, conduct increased surveillance, provide education to the community and stay up-to-date on state and federal information and guidance. The Public Health Director and Assistant Director also are epidemiologists and are closely monitoring the situation.
On March 13, 2020, County Executive Steve Ehlmann declared a State of Emergency related to this event. Please visit the Latest News page to view all St. Charles County Executive Orders.
Effective May 4, 2020, County Executive Ehlmann announced that St. Charles County would follow Missouri’s Show Me Strong Recovery Plan and gradually re-open economic and social activity in the county. The Department of Public Health released guidelines for employers in conjunction with this announcement.
Effective June 1, 2020, Most St. Charles County Government buildings have reopened to the public. Please be aware that building restrictions are in place, and appointments may be required for those seeking services.
Effective June 16, 2020, County Executive Ehlmann announced that St. Charles County would follow Phase 2 of Missouri’s Show Me Strong Recovery Plan and lift previously issued restrictions on individuals, businesses and organizations.
Please visit St. Charles County’s Latest News page.
Effective May 4, 2020, Missouri Governor Mike Parson implemented the first phase of the state’s Show Me Strong Recovery plan. Phase 2 of the plan, which lifted previously issued restrictions on individuals, businesses and organizations, became effective on June 16, 2020. For information on this plan, please visit https://showmestrong.mo.gov.
While these phases are implemented and restrictions are lifted, physical distancing, hand washing and other safety practices are encouraged to continue to reduce the spread of COVID-19. If the number of new cases rises quickly again, there may be additional orders issued by the County and/or State.
Visit the Governor’s website to view the "Stay Home Missouri" order. On Thursday, April 16, 2020, this order was extended through May 3, 2020 - view the extension. The Stay Home Missouri order was phased out by Missouri’s Show Me Strong Recovery Plan beginning on Monday, May 4, 2020 and through the lifting of restrictions in Phase 2 that became effective on June 16, 2020.
No. A county or community may enforce more restrictive public health requirements for businesses and individuals. Please view St. Charles County’s Latest News page for information about county-specific orders.
Phase 2 of Missouri’s Show Me Strong Recovery plan, which is being followed by St. Charles County after June 16, 2020, lifts previously issued COVID-19 restrictions on individuals, organizations and businesses.
If you observe violations local public health orders or if you have concerns related to businesses that are not following good precautionary behaviors, please contact the Division of Environmental Health and Protection at 636-949-1800.
St. Charles County activated its Incident Command System at 8 p.m. Saturday, March 7. A core group of County staff and community health care providers meet regularly to share information and plan for response actions to the pandemic. Members of the Executive staff are in those meetings and the County Executive receives updates numerous times each day.
Quarantine is a public health technique designed to keep a person away from the general public because they have been exposed to an infectious or contagious disease. An individual is placed on mandatory quarantine when they test positive for COVID-19, or when they have been in close contact with or are a household contact to a positive COVID-19 patient. Mandatory quarantine helps prevent the spread of COVID-19 and is enforceable by Missouri Revised Statute (RsMo) 192.320.
If the St. Charles County Department of Public Health (SCCDPH) determines that you need to be placed on mandatory quarantine, then you must stay home for the duration of your quarantine, which will end when you are released by the SCCDPH.
Similarities and Differences - Quarantine and Isolation
Isolation is the separation of individuals with an infectious or contagious disease from those who are not sick to prevent the spread within a household. Isolation is necessary for any person who has been diagnosed with COVID-19 by a laboratory test. Individuals with a COVID-19 diagnosis, exposures or symptoms are evaluated by laboratory tests and interviews to determine the appropriate duration of isolation.
The infected person needs to occupy a space that is separate from others who are not sick, including a separate sleeping space and separate bathroom. Meals should be provided room-service style with the food tray left outside the bedroom door and picked up by the infected person after the household member has walked away from the area. Isolated cases must stay in their bedroom or dedicated space, only coming out to use a dedicated bathroom. A bedroom/bathroom suite is an ideal situation.
When positive cases leave their bedroom or dedicated space and enter shared spaces of a home – even when other household members aren’t in the area – the potential for transmission of the virus to other members of the household via air/respiratory droplets or surfaces increases. This is not effective isolation.
If a separate space is not possible (for example, there is only one bathroom in the residence), then household members will be required to quarantine longer.
Household contacts to a positive COVID-19 patient will quarantine from the time their household member becomes ill until 14 days after the COVID-19 patient is released from their quarantine.
Each day during quarantine, you will receive an email containing a link to a symptom-monitoring survey. You must complete this survey each day. Failure to report symptom information can lengthen your quarantine. If you have issues entering your monitoring information, please email firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
Positive Cases (Symptomatic or Asymptomatic):The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends, and the SCCDPH requires, that individuals who have a positive COVID-19 test be placed on mandatory quarantine and isolate for 10 days, with no fever and no COVID-related symptoms (without medication) for the final 24 hours of the 10-day quarantine to be released. This quarantine may be extended if the person has severe COVID-19 illness.
The 10-day duration of quarantine is based on CDC studies that have determined symptomatic and asymptomatic positive cases generally stop shedding live virus after 10 days if symptoms are absent.
SCCDPH will make a determination if someone will be required to quarantine longer than 10 days, based on symptoms, onset, and disease severity.
Close Contact or Household Contact:The CDC recommends, and the SCCDPH, requires that individuals who are a close contact or household contact to a positive COVID-19 case be placed on mandatory quarantine and isolate for 14 days after their last exposure to the positive case. The duration of quarantine for close contacts and household contacts is different from positive cases because 14 days is the average incubation period for COVID-19. An incubation period is the time the virus is in your body and you are infected, but do not yet have symptoms. It can take this long for an individual to show symptoms after being exposed to a positive symptomatic or asymptomatic case.
Specifically, for household contacts:
Please note that the length of quarantine for household contacts will be extended if:
Yes. Missouri Revised Statute (RsMo) 192.320 prohibits violation of quarantine because it puts our community at risk.
Isolation is an advantage to members of your household because it gives them greater protection from the virus and allows them to finish quarantining sooner. If you choose to not isolate and other people live in your residence, then their quarantine time will extend 14 days after your quarantine ends.
No. Anything the isolated individual needs to give to those outside of their dedicated space (dirty dishes, cleaning supplies, laundry, trash, etc.) should be handled only by a household member wearing gloves. The gloves should be removed before touching any other surfaces. Anything touched by the COVID positive person should be thoroughly cleaned using proper sanitation measures.
Isolation may not be possible for some COVID-positive individuals. If this is the case with you, you should wear a mask around all household contacts and social distance as much as possible. Quarantine for your household contacts will begin as soon as you are released from isolation and quarantine.
No. At this time, release from isolation or quarantine is based upon symptoms and adherence to policies. A negative test is not required.In St. Charles County, only a representative from the Department of Public Health can release an individual from quarantine/isolation.
Not necessarily. We generally recommend close contacts get tested if they become symptomatic during their quarantine period. If a close contact is worried about asymptomatic infection, they should wait to get tested until 5-8 days after their exposure to a positive case.
The St. Charles County Department of Public Health can help make this determination based on symptoms and will assist in scheduling a test for a close contact if they do develop symptoms. A close contact cannot reduce their quarantine period with a negative test result.
Ask family or friends to help with necessities or contact the grocery store to see if they have delivery options available. If you have difficulty making arrangements, please contact the COVID-19 Information Hotline 8 a.m.—6 p.m, Monday—Friday, at 636-949-1899 or visit sccmo.org/CommunityResources for information on area agencies that can help you obtain needed items.
Yes. You can access the following resources below for your emotional health or you may use these online resources:
A specialized test must be performed to confirm that a person has been infected by the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19. Contact your medical provider or call the St. Charles County COVID Information Hotline at 636-949-1899 for information on obtaining testing. You must call ahead to obtain testing approval and receive further direction.Not everyone needs to be tested for COVID-19. For those who do receive approval from a medical provider for testing, there are several options – including by the provider, through private laboratories and other sources. A list of testing sites in Missouri is available through the Department of Health and Senior Services.
Viral tests are used to diagnose if an individual is currently infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19. There are several different methods for conducting a viral test. These tests check samples from the respiratory system, such as using swabs to collect samples from inside your nose. Some tests can be completed in minutes, while others may take a few days to be processed by a laboratory. A list of testing sites in Missouri is available through the Department of Health and Senior Services.
If you test positive:
If you test negative:
An antibody test, also known as serology testing, checks a sample of a person’s blood for the presence of antibodies. Antibodies are specific proteins that our body makes to help fight off infections, which means this test can determine if an individual had a previous infection with the COVID-19 virus. At this time, a positive result cannot determine if the individual is currently infected, contagious to others or protected against the virus in the future.This test can be performed through healthcare providers and laboratories. Speak with your medical provider to see if they offer antibody tests.
Much like the virus itself, we still do not know very much about what the presence of antibodies means for that person. An antibody test cannot tell if you are currently sick with COVID-19. Some people may take longer than others to develop antibodies, and some people may not develop antibodies at all.
We also do not know if the antibodies that result from the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19 will provide someone with immunity from a future infection. Even if antibodies do provide immunity, additional research is needed to determine what amount of antibodies would be needed to protect someone from additional or future infection.
A specialized test must be performed to confirm that a person has been infected by the SARS-Cov-2 virus that causes COVID-19. A list of mobile testing sites is available online through the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services. Call your medical provider or call the St. Charles County’s COVID-19 Information Hotline at 636-949-1899 for information on how to obtain testing. You must call ahead to obtain testing and receive further direction.
For those interested in an antibody test, this must be performed through a healthcare provider or laboratory. Speak with your medical provider to determine if they offer antibody tests.
When the Department of Public Health receives notification of a positive test result, staff conducts a full investigation to determine when the exposure occurred, what additional contact tracing is needed, and if quarantine is appropriate.
When staff receives a negative test result, that information is kept for statistical purposes. A negative antibody test will not allow someone to be released from their quarantine.
There is currently no recommended treatment for those infected with COVID-19. Most people who are diagnosed with the illness will recover on their own by drinking plenty of fluids, resting and taking over-the-counter medications for symptoms experienced. In some cases, individuals may require medical care or hospitalization.
At this time, there are no products that are U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-approved for the prevention or treatment of COVID-19.
Pharmaceutical chloroquine phosphate and hydroxychloroquine sulfate are approved by the FDA to treat specific medical conditions, such as malaria, lupus, and rheumatoid arthritis. Chloroquine phosphate and hydroxychloroquine sulfate, when used without a prescription and supervision of a healthcare provider, can cause serious health consequences, including death. In overdose situations, when used inappropriately or when used in combination with other drugs, these medications can lead to severe toxicity, including cardiac rhythm disturbances such as prolonged QT, severe hypokalemia, cardiovascular collapse, seizures, coma, and death.
a) Check your pop-up blocker feature to be sure that your browser will allow pop-up windows.b) Be sure you are using Internet Explorer as your browser.c) The new window may be covered by an open window from another program. Check the tabs at the bottom of your screen for the application window.
The goal of the St. Charles County Division of Environmental Health and Protection's mosquito control program is to decrease the number of disease-carrying pests that cause a nuisance to the general population. We target breeding sites that harbor larvae and spray during evening hours for flying adult mosquitoes. In addition, we educate residents on the importance of eliminating potential breeding sites around their community.
There are many products that control mosquitoes, with varying levels of effectiveness and impact on the environment. The primary treatments that the Division of Environmental Health and Protection employs are Kontrol 4-4 for adult insects and Aquabac 200G for larvae.
A mosquito goes through four distinct stages during its life cycle: egg, larva, pupa and adult (imago). Kontrol 4-4 is an adulticide, which means that it affects mosquitoes in the adult life cycle only. Mosquito control programs typically apply treatment by use of an aerosol sprayer, and St. Charles County utilizes a truck-mounted method fashioned with an ultra-low volume (ULV) sprayer. We choose to apply this treatment during the late evening/night hours, when mosquitoes are most active. ULV sprayers dispense very fine aerosol droplets that contain small quantities of active pesticide ingredients that stay aloft and eliminate mosquitoes on contact. The application area extends almost 300 square feet — so even though spraying may be done from the street; it is designed to reach backyard areas. St. Charles County began using Kontrol 4-4 for insect treatment in 2019.
In addition to removing adult insects, another mode of mosquito control is the eradication of larvae. After determining that standing water is contaminated with mosquito larvae, Division of Environmental Health and Protection staff uses Aquabac 200G to inhibit development. Aquabac 200G is crushed corn cobs treated with bacteria that eat away the stomach and intestines of the larvae before they further develop into pupae and adults. Although very effective on the mosquito larvae, this process causes no harm to people, animals or other organisms.
With any pesticide or chemical application, caution must be exercised in accordance with the manufacturer's suggestions to ensure safety. St. Charles County employs certified public pesticide applicators that are trained by the Missouri Department of Agriculture. The chemicals we apply are carefully diluted, and our machines are calibrated daily to ensure the most effective distribution of pesticide during our control efforts, with no risk to the public. When truck drivers pass residents, they turn off the spray apparatus. While the generator may still be running, the sprayer does not disperse chemicals near people.
The best way to cut down on mosquitoes is through water management. If you have any standing water on your property, you can limit habitat and breeding areas by filling in low spots that hold water or by observing proper drainage management. A common breeding area in many yards is in buckets, unused tires, gutters, bird baths, trash piles or other objects that can hold water for a week or longer. Additionally, if you have a lake or pond on your property, a common tool to limit mosquito growth is the use of a fountain or water agitator.
Adult mosquito application by Division of Environmental Health and Protection staff is a complaint-based process — meaning we only spray when residents alert us that mosquitoes are a problem in their neighborhood. Please call our office at 636-949-1800 or complete this online form to alert us to potential problems. A common question that you may be asked after this complaint is "Are the mosquitoes biting?" While this may seem to be a strange question, by asking it our staff can best predict when to spray in your area. Only female mosquitoes bite, and it may take up to two extra days for females to emerge versus male mosquitoes.
To protect yourself while outside, please apply a mosquito repellent containing DEET, picaridin, IR 3535 or oil of lemon eucalyptus.
View available dates for these facilities, camp sites, and more, visit our online reservation site, go to Reserve a Facility and then view available reservation dates. You may also contact us at 636-949-7535 and speak to a reservation specialist in the office during the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday-Friday to learn about available rental dates.
View and register for events online or by calling 636-949-7535 Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The 2018 Activity Guide is coming soon!
St. Charles County Parks and Recreation DepartmentAttention: Volunteer Coordinator201 N 2nd St. – Suite 510St. Charles, MO 63301
Along with cash and checks made payable to St. Charles County Government, the Department of Public Health accepts payment for selected services using VISA, MasterCard or Discover.
In addition, online payments of birth/death records may be ordered with a credit card at an additional cost using a third-party vendor.
Visit our Vital Records page for details about birth/death records. Visit our U.S. passport page to learn about first-time applications of passport books or cards.
Please visit our Food page for further information.
Visit our Recycling page to learn more.
We always have a variety of dogs and cats (and sometimes even have other animals) ready and waiting to go into their forever home. Puppies and kittens are most prevalent in the spring and summer months, but can sometimes be available over the winter months as well. Our adoption program has been so successful that we suggest you come in personally and view the animals available for adoption.
Although we can give you some information on what is available on the telephone, it is very likely that the animal that sounds like the pet you want will be gone when you come in. Some animals are adopted within minutes of being put in the adoption area!
We do get a lot of small dogs and some of our animals are purebred. If you are seeking a specific breed or aged animal, we suggest that you check the shelter as often as you can.
And, once at the facility, you will be asked to complete an adoption application, which will be kept on file for up to 90 days. On this application, you can mark your "Wish List," and we will attempt to contact you should that animal become available. However, please understand that all animals are processed on a first-come, first-served basis.
Please visit our Missing/Found Pets page.
Visit our Permanent Food Establishment web page or call 636-949-1800.
Please visit our Temporary Food Events & Farmers Markets page.
The above item list is not all-inclusive, because it would be impossible to imagine all the items that a vendor may wish to serve. Vendors unsure of whether or not serving their goods at a Farmers Market may require a food license should call 636-949-1800 for assistance.
Please note that, any person engaged in the business of operating a food establishment without a license as required by the St. Charles County Food Code shall be subjected to a fine of $500 for each offense. Section 8-601.11.
The test kits for private drinking water supplies are available at our office, during regular business hours. There is no charge for the kit itself, however the state laboratory will bill you $10 for the completed analysis.
Appointments are required for all services (except those involving vital records and the passport program). Please consult the Division of Health Services program sections for more information.
Please see the Immunizations, Lab Services and Women, Infants and Children (WIC) pages under the Division of Health Services website for information specific to those programs.
Visit the Land Records page for more details.
Please see our Marriage Licenses page.
No, that can be done in the Assessor’s office. You can search our records by name or legal description in our online records site.
The St. Charles County Airport is home to 92 T-hangar aircraft storage hangars. All are equipped with electric bi-fold doors, electric outlets and overhead lights and paved floors and will easily accommodate single-engine aircraft or small twins. Sizes range from approximately 1,200 square feet to 1,600 square feet. Rental rates vary from $177.50 to $248 monthly, utilities included. Rentals can be monthly or annual. Call for availability.
Nightly tie-down rates for single-engine aircraft are $5, or $35 monthly; for twin engine aircraft, rates are $7 nightly or $50 monthly.
Runway 18-36, asphalt, 3,800’ x 75’, REIL’s, VASI’s & PAPI’s; 12,500 pound single-wheel weight-bearing capacity Runway 9-27, asphalt, 2,000’ x 75’, 12,500 pound single-wheel weight-bearing capacity. Both runways are equipped with pilot-controlled lighting and directional and location signage.
Hours are 8 a.m.–4:30 p.m., Monday–Friday, except holidays. The terminal has a conference room, pilots lounge, public Wi-Fi and banquet meeting room available.
Airport maintenance can be reached at 636-949-1829.
Weather can be accessed on the Automated Surface Observation System at 636-250-4590, radio 118.75.
The Smoke-Free Air Act of 2018 prohibits smoking within all enclosed public places in St. Charles County, including, but not limited to, places of employment, hotels, commercial vehicles and restaurants,unless the establishment meets an exemption. Municipal ordinances may be stricter than the County ordinance.
Complaints can be filed online by clicking SUBMIT A COMPLAINT and following the prompts.
Business owners must take steps to prohibit smoking in public spaces by:
Yes, smoking is now prohibited in all public places within St. Charles County, including places of employment, unless the establishment meets an exemption.
Yes, there are 10 exemptions to the Smoke-Free Air Act of 2018. To review these exemptions, please see St. Charles County Ordinance No. 18-070.
Smoking is prohibited in an outdoor are within a distance of 15 feet from entrances, operable windows, and ventilation systems of public enclosed spaces.
While passed by voters on Nov. 6, 2018, the ordinance did not take effect until Nov. 20, 2018 when the vote was certified by the St. Charles County Election Authority. Enforcement of the ordinance began on Jan. 28, 2019.
If the city or building owner allows it, yes, but only within the living quarters of the residence, per exemption number 8. However, smoking is not allowed in common areas of a residential facility, or within a residence used for child care, adult day care, as a group home, or health care facility.
As long as the area is fully open to fresh air, smoking is permitted in these settings. However, if the area is bounded on more than two sides by walls, doorways or windows — regardless of these items being open or closed — then it is to be considered an enclosed public space. Smoking is prohibited within any enclosed public spaces.
The Department of Public Health will check for compliance of the ordinance when performing mandated inspections of licensed establishments. The department will investigate complaints, and, along with local law enforcement and fire departments, will enforce this ordinance.
Penalties related to violation of this act will be enforced beginning Jan. 28, 2019, and are as follows:
The ordinance is clear, stating:“No person or employer shall discharge, refuse to hire, or in any manner retaliate against an employee, applicant for employment, customer, or resident of a multiple-unit residential facility because that employee, applicant, customer, or resident exercises any rights afforded by this Section or reports or attempts to prosecute a violation of this Section. Violation is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed $1,000 for each violation.”
Yes, smoking-related ordinances exist in some St. Charles County municipalities and can be more stringent than County ordinance. Review individual municipality ordinances for specifics.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, smoking is the leading cause of preventable death worldwide, with harms found in nearly every body organ from smoking. Tobacco smoke contains a mix of more than 7,000 chemicals, of which approximately 70 are recognized to cause cancer. Cigarette smoking is responsible for nearly 500,000 American deaths each year, including more than 41,000 deaths from secondhand smoke exposure.
The Missouri Tobacco Quitline is a free service available 24-hours a day for residents who want to quit smoking. For information, please call 1-800-QUIT-NOW (1-800-784-8669). Additional assistance is available through the American Lung Association.
A temporary food establishment is one that operates for a period of no more than 14 consecutive days in conjunction with a single event or celebration. Special events — such as the Festival of the Little Hills, Oktoberfest, the St. Charles County Fair, parish picnics and others — require temporary licenses. Also in this category are fundraiser-type activities like church suppers, community barbecues and small food stands.
All organizations operating a temporary food establishment are required to obtain a license from the Division of Environmental Health and Protection. All applications for a temporary food establishment must include a Commissary Agreement. There may be a fee required along with this license, although some organizations are exempt. Please complete the Temporary Food Facility License Application. Please call 636-949-1800 if you have questions.
You can apply for one at the St. Charles County Department of Public Health. You can call us at 636-949-7558.
An application (PDF) for a copy of a birth or death certificate may be downloaded and brought to the health department. Applications are also available at the health department during business hours. For an additional convenience fee, you may complete the application online and have it delivered to your home.
While there are formulas for determining the precise amount of chlorine to use for disinfection, many homeowners do not know the depth of their well, making calculations difficult. One gallon of household chlorine bleach or 1 pound of chlorine tablets will adequately disinfect the average well in our area. If you have an extremely deep well, over 600 feet, you may use an extra half gallon of bleach, or ½ pound of tablets. Chlorine tablets are preferable for wells over 400 feet, where they will sink to the lower depths more readily.After removing your well cap or cistern cover; use the following procedure to disinfect your well:
Each of these alternatives has its positive and negative points that will require doing a little homework. You will want to research your options and make a decision based upon initial cost; maintenance and repair; and resale value. Do web searches using the key words: hydrogen sulfide, water, and treatment. Visit the library and look for books or articles on water treatment and well water supplies. Talk to your neighbors about what they have done in response to the problem. Once you've gotten a good idea of what you want, contact several water treatment companies and plumbers to locate 1 who can install the system to fit your needs.
212 Turner Blvd, St. Peters, MO 63376 Take Interstate 70 to Highway 79; Go North on 79 taking the first exit, which is the North Service Road. Our building is on the right (south side) across from the Krey Distributing Company.
8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Thursday9:00 AM to 4:30 PM on FridayClosed on Sat and Sun