Sales and Property Tax Rate Information

The Department of Finance provides tax rate information on our website as a courtesy to the citizens of St. Charles County. The department does not regulate or collect taxes.

  • Your tax bill is comprised of three key components:
    • Assessment Authority: The assessment authority (Assessor) is responsible for establishing the fair market value of all property within St. Charles County as of the tax date. This assures the tax burden is distributed fairly among those responsible for payment.
    • Taxing Authority: The taxing authority (school, city, fire districts, etc.) establishes the tax rate based on the budgetary requirements needed to appropriately fund the services provided within their jurisdiction.
    • Collection Authority: The collection authority (Collector of Revenue) is responsible for collecting the amount of tax assigned to each property owner.

Sales Tax

  • Missouri Sales Tax (PDF), Chapter 144 RSMo: Sales Tax is imposed on retail sales of tangible personal property and certain services. All sales of tangible personal property and taxable services are generally presumed taxable unless specifically exempted by law. Persons making retail sales collect the sales tax from the purchaser and remit the tax to the Department of Revenue. The state sales tax rate is 4.225%. Cities, counties and certain districts may also impose local sales taxes as well. The state and local sales taxes are remitted together to the Department of Revenue for disbursement to the cities, counties and districts.
  • Local Use Tax: County voters instituted a Use Tax, currently totaling 1.675%, to fund park land acquisition, development and operations. Both businesses and individuals are responsible for self filing with the Missouri Department of Revenue once out-of-state purchases exceed $2,000 in 1 year. 

Property Tax Rate Charts

Archived Property Tax Rate Charts through the Collector of Revenue