Marriage License Information

Pre-Application Marriage License

Internet Explorer 7 or newer is required for use of the Pre-Application Marriage Online Form.

Where to Apply
Apply in the Recorder of Deeds Office with Barbara J. Hall located in the St. Charles County Administration Building at:
201 N. Second St.
Suite 338
St. Charles, MO 63301

If you have questions, please call 636-949-7506.
Administration Building
When to Apply
Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday except legal holidays. You should allow yourself sufficient time by arriving no later than 4 p.m. Per Missouri State Statute, the marriage license shall be void after 30 days from the date of issuance. So, if application is made within 30 days prior to the scheduled wedding, the license may be issued upon application.

You may apply further in advance if needed, but the license cannot be issued before 30 days prior to the wedding. In that case, 1 of the applicants will have to return to the Recorder's Office to obtain the license within the 30-day period before the wedding.

How to Apply
Both parties must appear together at the Recorder's Office with the required identification. View the qualifications listed below for additional information, and the listing of fees and payment information. The license must be paid for at the time it is issued.

A custodial parent may be required for consent (if applicable).

This provision is waived for certain applicants who qualify under state and federal statutes (incarcerated, military duty assigned outside the state of Missouri or disabled under ADA). Please call 636-949-7506 for a packet and instructions.

  • Blood relatives, down to and including first cousins, may not marry under the laws of the State of Missouri.
  • Foreign applicants must present their valid government issued ID along with a certified English translation of all non-English identification used. If a translator is needed, arrangements for an appointment with our office must be made well in advance.
  • Applicants (male or female) must be 18 years of age to marry without parental consent. Persons between the ages of 15 and 18 may obtain a license with the consent of their custodial parent. Parents must give consent in person at the time of application. They must provide proper identification and, if divorced, proof of custody.
  • Previously married applicants must give the date their last marriage ended. Divorced individuals may not apply until their divorce has been final for a minimum of 40 days.

Proof of Age Identification

Identification is required of all parties. Each marriage applicant must also show their Social Security number. The following documents will be accepted:
  • Age 15–17
    • Birth certificate (legal, certified)
    • Social Security card
    • Valid government issued photo ID
    • Custodial parent to give consent
  • Age 18
    • Birth certificate (legal, certified)
    • Social security card
    • Valid government issued photo ID
  • Age 19 and over
    • Valid government issued photo ID
    • Social security card (if the Social Security number is not on the ID presented)
  • Consenting parents
    • Valid government issued photo ID
    • If divorced, court papers to prove custody
When You Pick Up the License
The marriage license is valid for only 30 days from the date of issuance and may be used anywhere within the State of Missouri. A Missouri marriage license is not valid for use outside of the State of Missouri.
What to Do With the License
You are responsible for delivering the license to the officiator who performs your ceremony. The officiator must complete the bottom portion of the license, sign, have the witnesses sign, then return it to the Recorder's Office, in the envelope provided, within 15 days after the wedding. The license is then recorded and remains on file permanently in this office.

If, for any reason, the license is not used or expires before being used, you must return the license to the Recorder's Office marked "unused."

Obtaining Proof
After the return and recordation of your license, proof of your marriage is available upon request by mail or in person to Recorder of Deeds Barbara J. Hall at:
201 N. Second St.
Suite 338
St. Charles, MO 63301

Please include the following with your request:
  • Names of bride and groom at time of application
  • Date of marriage
  • $9 fee for each certified copy (no personal checks accepted)
  • Your marriage license number (if you have it)
  • A self-addressed, stamped return envelope if requesting by mail

Adopting the Law of the State Defining Marriage

The law of the State of Missouri, as set forth in Article 1, Section 33 of the Missouri Constitution, Section 451.022, Missouri Revised Statutes (RSMO), is hereby enacted as an ordinance of St. Charles County, Missouri, Section 145.030, Ordinances of St. Charles County, Missouri (OSCCMo), on May 10, 2014, as follows:

  • It is the public policy of the St. Charles County Government to recognize marriage only between a man and a woman.
  • Any purported marriage not between a man and a woman is deemed invalid.
  • The St. Charles County Recorder of Deeds, or any other office or employee of the county, shall not issue or record a marriage license, except to a man and a woman.
  • A purported marriage between persons of the same sex will not be recognized for any purposes by the St. Charles County Government even when valid where contracted
Please note: As of June 26, 2015, the provisions of Article I, Section 33 of the Missouri Constitution, Section 451.022 RSMo., and Section 145.030 OSCCMo, are unenforceable pursuant to Obergefell et al. v. Hodges et al., ___U.S. ___, 135 S.Ct. 2584, 2015 WL 2473451.