Patrol Division

Hours & Shifts

This division operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with three different shifts.
  • First Watch / Day Shift: 6:45 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
  • Second Watch / Evening Shift: 2:45 p.m. - 11 p.m.
  • Third Watch / Midnight Shift: 10:45 p.m. - 7 a.m.
Each of these shifts are assigned a Watch Commander Lieutenant and 2 Shift Commander Sergeants. They lead each of the shifts on a rotation basis.


The Patrol Division is directly responsible for maintaining a uniform presence 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The county is divided into 8 patrol zones. The Patrol Division is responsible for contract patrols in the cities of Augusta, Weldon Springs Heights, St. Paul, Flint Hill, Portage De Sioux, New Melle, and West Alton.

Additionally, they provide a dedicated officer full time for law enforcement patrol services to the municipalities of Dardenne Paraire and Weldon Spring.

Assigned Vehicle Program

In 1972, the Police Department enacted the permanent vehicle assignment program, which assigns a vehicle to each officer who is responsible for the maintenance and up keep of their assigned vehicle. This also allows officers to take their assigned vehicle to their residence, which increases visibility and enhances response times and safety to the county residence.

The current fleet of marked patrol vehicle models include Chevrolet Tahoe, Ford Explorer, and Dodge Charger to name a few.


Each of our patrol vehicles are equipped with equipment specialized to assist officers with their assigned duties, while serving the residences of the county. Some of the items include:
  • Digital video cameras
  • GPS navigation systems
  • Mobile data computers
  • New state of the art radio system
  • Radar units

Specialized Units

Check out the Patrol Division's specialized units within it.